For the 2019 cycle, applications will be due Friday, December 6, 2019 (after the WSN annual meeting). Awards will be announced in Spring 2020.

The second Rafe Sagarin Fund award was announced at the 2017 WSN meeting. Congratulations to our winners! Check back at this site for updates on their projects.

Beth Lenz (Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)
Examining the Potential for Successful Reproduction in Hawaiian Reef-Building Corals as the Ocean Warms

Honorable mention:

Reyn Yoshioka (Oregon Institute of Marine Biology)
Disease as a creator: Roles of eelgrass wasting disease in producing trophic resources in seagrass ecosystems

Robin Elahi, Hillary Hayford, and Will King (Hopkins Marine Station and Friday Harbor Labs)
Biogeography of body size change: testing the temporal temperature-size rule along a latitudinal gradient

The Rafe Sagarin Fund for Innovative Ecology was founded to honor and carry on the work of an insightful scientist, creative free spirit, and engaged human being.

“The ability to turn ideas that were once only conceptual into practical tools applicable across disciplines is one reason that twenty-first-century ecology is so exciting and so powerful.”

— Sagarin & Pauchard 2012, Observation and Ecology